Skip to content

city of weslaco city on the growWeslaco, Texas, the largest city in eastern Hidalgo County, has a council–manager style of government. The City Mayor and six City Commissioners serve staggered three-year terms with elections held annually in November.  The Commissioners are elected from one of six single member districts, two elected every year, and the Mayor is elected at-large every three years.  City elected officials are non-partisan.  They may have a personal affiliation with a political party, but has no bearing on the office.

The City Commission appoints the:

  • City Manager
  • City Attorney
  • Police Chief
  • City Secretary
  • Volunteer members of various citizen committees.

Click here for a current listing of the Weslaco City Government. To learn more visit the City of Weslaco Home Page!

Scroll To Top